Back

Every time I decide to stop writing on this one, I am surprised by the number of hits. Maybe I should actually start writing about periodic cycles of blog traffic.

Alright, alright.. bad joke.

Hmm.. so I’m back. From a fabulous vacation. I did not open one book, did not send one useful email and hardly talked to anyone I knew professionally. Instead, I ate like there’s no tomorrow, gallivanted around the country, fed stray puppies and took 500 photographs from my new camera. Ah, bliss!

When you know what they mean by ‘coming back to the real world’, you realize that the experience is akin to having been flying in the sky and then feel someone tug at your leg, saying ,”Hey, babe.. are you gonna come down the high post or what?”

The journey back was indifferent, the experience after, listless. Man, there’s no variety! There are no orange coloured shops saying ‘Sripullareddy Ghee Sweets Shop’ and the roads are looooooonnnnnggg and wiiinndddddiiiiinnngg (you get the picture). The trees are bare, the snow is just a tad bit comforting and the freaking heater won’t work!

Talk of hangovers.

11 Responses

  1. I don’t think it would be a good idea to comment this here. πŸ˜‰

    But on your “bad joke”, actually it IS indeed something on which you can write a lot.

    The posting frequency on this blog is pretty less so it can be safely assumed that the increase in blog traffic is not due to new posts. Let’s assume and that holds reasonably well – that since you have not been posting much, you must not have been giving links to people to read your blog anymore. If that too is true, that means that most visitors arrive on your blog randomly. Either randomly as a search hit or just remember randomly that they should check up (especially people who don’t use readers etc that notify of new posts on a page). Anyway I mean that one CAN say that number of hits in a day then would be a random measurement and caused so by a number of random factors.
    If you were to model that over the entire period your blog has been in existence.
    It gives a gaussian curve. It satisfies the error law! I have tried it after some normalization on an old blog of mine.

    So this surge in traffic is an outlier in most probability. πŸ™‚

    – S

    PS: Apologies for that. I couldn’t resist.

  2. Ah, Shubhendu.. my long standing blogger friend. I apologize for not having replied to your earlier comment. I wanted to (eagerly), but it got very personal after a while.

    WordPress has some amazing stat analysis. The assumption being that I don’t visit this place or encourage others to, it’s pretty funny to see a strangely continuous sine wave. And it is pretty low on weekends. It’s not a surge either, just the same average number of hits throughout.

    People are bored at work, so to speak. And they don’t seem to be random hits either.. the referrers seem to be the same old.

    Don’t resist. I like the mental stimulation. I’m very poor at math, so this helps.

  3. Hey! Had a trip back home? Howz the good old Hyd doing?

  4. OMG, look who’s here! πŸ™‚

    Hyd is … awesome. πŸ˜€ where u? hows u?

  5. Oh well, I have tried it out on a blog. There are some spikes in it, but I suppose they are because of the occasional bots, forget weekends and times around Christmas so to say. It does give a fairly Gaussian curve. Even if approximately. I found the trend very interesting indeed.

    Personal? (w.r.t the comment)

  6. Even if people are bored at office, and visit your page say once in 15 days. The fact that they visited it without keeping any time as such would add up to a random number of hits ROUGHLY each day. Roughly is important! And yeah I meant hits on average (each day).

  7. By the way the plot is “Number of Days on the vertical versus average hits on the horizontal axis”. It would be some sort of a frequency plot. I did not mean a normal plot with date on the x-axis and the hits on the y-axis πŸ™‚

    Coming back,
    There can be two classes to it :
    1. Consider only weekdays / workdays.

    2. Consider only weekends/ holidays.

    If both are mixed up then there would an anomaly ofcourse. Consider both classes independently (plot only class 1 and plot only class 2, but not after adding them up). That way both should follow the error law approximately.

    Anyway apologies for the statistical nonsense.

  8. I’m doing good! Me currently singing Aamchi Mumbai πŸ™‚

    Now that you’re back, I expect you to shake off that Pulla reddy effects soon and be back in your full flow on the blog soon πŸ™‚

  9. Too bad the blog is closed. I actually came back to see if this post still existed. I had marked it.

    In the months since this discussion happened. I actually collected web-stats for 2 dead websites – nerdwisdom and percimark (Thanks to John Yedidia of the Mitsubishi Research Lab and Paras of DCE ) for the past 4 months to get enough stats to get a statistically significant analysis.

    And it does turn out to be ROUGHLY Gaussian. Actually this has nothing to do with you. Your blog post just gave me an idea that how the behavior should be given there are no new baits for feed subscribers etc to follow. And that you make no new suggestions to friends to follow your page.
    And it indeed turns out to be Gaussian.

    I was thinking of writing a post on it and then pinging here, just in case you’d get interested. Your post made me revise all of my ideas on stochastic processes. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Too bad the blog appears closed. I’ll write anyway when time would permit.

    Much Respect,
    – Shubhendu

  10. […] weeks ago, while writing somewhere.,Β  I thought it was time to try and model the same for a blog or a website and see for myself if […]

  11. […] weeks ago, while writing somewhere.,Β  I thought it was time to try and model the same for a blog or a website and see for myself if […]

Leave a Reply

